Papoian Lab News

March 24th, 2017

Haiqing Zhao has recieved the Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship.

March 10th, 2017

Hao Wu has received the Best Poster Award at UMD's Biophysics and Chemical Physics Student Visit Day.

October 12th, 2016

Our lab's recent article on histone assembly was the cover feature in the JACS October issue.

January 23rd, 2017

Haiqing Zhao has received an Education Travel Award from the Biophysical Society for the upcoming Biophysical Society Meeting in New Orleans February 11-15th.


December 23rd, 2016

James Komianos has been accepted to UMD's new NSF-funded Computation and Mathematics for Biological Networks(COMBINE) program with a year-long NSF stipend.


August 8th, 2016

In collaboration with the Wolynes and Dalal labs, we have published an article on the free energy landscape of nucleosomes and an article on chaperones in histone assembly.

May 23, 2016

Our lab has created public repositories for recently developed codes MEDYAN and AWSEM-MD.

April 23, 2015

Our lab published an article in JACS on the effects of acetylation on the conformational preferences of the H4 histone tail.

May 20, 2014

We recently published a paper in JACS on the origin of internal friction for unfolded proteins.

May 15, 2014

Garegin Papoian is now the director of Chemical Physics at the University of Maryland, College Park.


May 1, 2014

Garegin Papoian is now the Monroe Martin Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry.


June 12, 2013

Michelle Thomas was selected as a Hypercube Scolar.


June 12, 2013

Michelle Thomas was selected as a Hypercube Scolar.

Apr 12, 2012

Davit Potoyan won the first prize in his session at the Graduate Research Interaction Day (GRID) 2012.

Nov 16, 2011
Our recent paper in JACS on understanding the origin of DNA's rigidity was highlighted by "Chemistry World", which is an RSC publication.
May 23, 2011
Maria Minakova was accepted and provided with travel support to participate in the EU-US Summer School 2011 on HPC Challenges in Computational Sciences.
May 22, 2011
Garegin Papoian received the Rice Family Fund Fellowship Award to participate in the program "Biological Frontiers of Polymer and Soft Matter Physics" organized by the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics in Santa Barbara, CA.
March 22, 2011
Davit Potoyan was named among the 2011 Student Research Achievement Award Winners of the Biophysical Society National Meeting in Baltimore. Three hundred and nine society student members participated in this competitive event. Congrats!
March 19, 2011
Dr. Garegin A. Papoian delivered the Hettleman Prize lecture at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
August 15, 2010
The group has moved to University of Maryland.
January 5, 2010
Dr. Garegin A. Papoian received an Hewlett-Packard Outstanding Junior Faculty Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS).
June 25, 2009

A Feature Article by Pavel. Zhuravlev, Chris Materese and Garyk Papoian, on energy landscapes view of protein dynamics, appeared on the cover page of July 2 2009 issue of The Journal of Physical Chemistry B.
May 5, 2009

Ryan Vary, an incoming graduate student, was awarded a Venable Fellowship for summer research in the Papoian lab.
April 3, 2009

Greg Rubinstein, an undergraduate student at California Institute of Technology, received a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) to carry out summer research in Papoian Lab.

January 31, 2009

Garegin Papoian received NSF CAREER award, for five years, to develop physico-chemical models of the way actin polymerization processes drive movement of eukaryotic cells.

August 5, 2008
A manuscript by C. K. Materese, C. C. Goldmon and G. A. Papoian was accompanied by V. Lubchenko's Commentary and highlighted on the Cover of August 5th issue of PNAS.
July 25, 2008
Alexey Savelyev was selected to receive the UNC Postdoctoral Award for Research Excellence for the 2008-2009 academic year.
July 17, 2008
Christopher Materese was selected as a Chemistry Department GAANN fellow (Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need) for the 2008/09 academic year.
April 28, 2008
Dr. Garegin A. Papoian received Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award from The Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation. 
April 10, 2007
The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation named Dr. Garegin A. Papoian among 2007 Beckman Young Investigators Award recepients. More details...
April 7, 2006
Sean Walder was awarded a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), which is funded by the Frances C. and William P. Smallwood Foundation. 

April 3, 2006
North Carolina Biotechnology Center (NCBC) awarded a two-year seed grant to fund an interdisciplinary group of researchers at UNC, including Papoian laboratory, to study chromatin structure and function with novel  approaches. More details...

January 2, 2005
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill provided support for our efforts in signal transduction modeling through the R. J. Reynolds Excellence Junior Faculty Development Award.

July 20, 2004
The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation provided support for our efforts in protein biophysics through the New Faculty Award.  More details...